Burnout – Too much in my mind

Burnout Neurofeedback Stuttgart

Share This Post

Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Burnout has become a well-known phenomenon in the working world. Overwork at work can lead to a condition that is often described by those affected as a feeling of burnout. Burnout is primarily a mental state, but can also lead to physical secondary diseases. With the new classification system ICD-11 (International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems) of the WHO, which is to apply from 2022, burnout is described as a syndrome, not as an independent disease. Accordingly, the following symptoms are characteristic of burnout:

  • (emotional) exhaustion
  • increasing mental distance from the profession or negative/cynical attitudes towards the profession (also described as depersonalisation)
  • reduced performance

According to the definition, burnout is clearly to be placed in a work-related context and can occur when stress is too high and persists for a long time. The decisive factor here is that there are not enough resources available to deal with the stress in an appropriate way. Occupational fields that are exposed to a lot of stress, such as medical professions, are particularly at risk.

People affected by burnout often notice that they are less concentrated, stressed and overstrained at work and they also often have negative emotions, are tired and irritable. The symptoms of burnout are very similar to symptoms that are also typical of depression. Researchers are therefore divided as to whether burnout is a type of depression or whether these two concepts can be distinguished. However, it is known that people who suffer from burnout are more likely to develop depression than the average population.

Regardless of how burnout is classified, it is perceived by those affected as a severe strain. The key to fighting burnout is to counteract the continuous stress with conscious relaxation. This can be achieved, for example, through sport or meditation. Neurofeedback can also help to free the brain from its permanent stress by training specifically relaxed brain activity. Fixed appointments that are intended to help you relax can also help, as they are less easily cancelled in stressful everyday life than the intention to go jogging in the evening. With relaxation training to reduce stress and build up stress resistance, neurofeedback can be used both as therapy and as a preventive measure.

In addition to sometimes serious effects on those affected, burnout as a stress-induced syndrome can also have an impact on the economy, which has to deal with an increasing number of absences from work. In order to reduce this development, there are preventive measures that are aimed at reducing stress and learning how to deal with stress in a healthy way.

Literature

Awa, W., Plaumann, M., & Walter, U. (2010). Burnout prevention: A review of intervention programs. Patient Education and Counseling, 78(2), 184-190.

Bianchi, R., Schonfeld, I. S., & Laurent, E. (2015). Burnout–depression overlap: A review. Clinical Psychological Review, 36, 28-41.

Bundesministerium für Gesundheit. (2019). Förderung der psychischen Gesundheit und des Wohlbefindens am Arbeitsplatz. Retrieved from https://www.bundesgesundheitsministerium.de/themen/praevention/betriebliche-gesundheitsfoerderung/gesundheit-und-wohlbefinden-am-arbeitsplatz.html

World Health Organization. (2019). Burn-out an “occupational phenomenon”: International Classification of Diseases. Retrieved from https://www.who.int/mental_health/evidence/burn-out/en/

get our monthly newsletter

get all updates and interesting facts about mental health

More interesting things to discover

Neurofeedback Practice Steven Jones Stuttgart
Uncategorized

The Neurofeedback Training Method

Imagine that you could train your brain in a similar way to muscle training to achieve better results in making decisions, learning a new language

The human brain
Uncategorized

The human brain

Experiencing, feeling, thinking, moving, acting; our brain controls all of this. But what is it actually, the brain, the organ that is responsible for so

Mental problems?

Get free advice about the possibilities offered by neurofeedback.

Gerne helfe ich Ihnen weiter

I will gladly help you further

Burnout – Too much in my mind

Burnout Neurofeedback Stuttgart

Share This Post

Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Burnout ist inzwischen ein bekanntes Phänomen in der Arbeitswelt. Durch Überlastung im Beruf kann sich ein Zustand einstellen, der von Betroffenen häufig ein als Gefühl des Ausgebranntseins beschrieben wird. Burnout ist in erster Linie ein mentaler Zustand, kann aber auch körperliche Folgeerkrankungen nach sich ziehen. Mit dem neuen Klassifikationssystem ICD-11 (Internationale statistische Klassifikation der Krankheiten und verwandter Gesundheitsprobleme) der WHO, das ab 2022 gelten soll, wird Burnout als Syndrom beschrieben, nicht als eigenständige Krankheit. Demnach sind folgende Symptome charakteristisch für Burnout:

  • (emotionale) Erschöpfung
  • zunehmende mentale Distanzierung vom Beruf oder negative/zynische Einstellungen gegenüber des Berufs (auch als Depersonalisation beschrieben)
  • reduzierte Leistungsfähigkeit

Laut Definition ist Burnout klar in einen berufsbezogenen Kontext einzuordnen und kann bei zu hohem und lange anhaltendem Stress entstehen. Entscheidend ist dabei, dass nicht genügend Ressourcen zur Verfügung stehen um in passender Weise mit dem Stress umzugehen. Besonders gefährdet sind Berufsfelder, die viel Stress ausgesetzt sind, wie medizinische Berufe.

Von Burnout Betroffene merken häufig, dass sie bei der Arbeit unkonzentrierter, gestresst und überfordert sind und sie zudem häufig negative Emotionen haben, müde und gereizt sind. Die Burnout-Symptome ähneln stark Symptomen, die auch auch bei Depressionen typisch sind. In der Forschung besteht daher Uneinigkeit, ob Burnout eine Art Depression ist oder ob diese beiden Konzepte voneinander zu unterscheiden sind. Bekannt ist aber, dass Personen, die an Burnout leiden, mit einer höheren Wahrscheinlichkeit an einer Depression erkranken als die durchschnittliche Bevölkerung.

Unabhängig davon, wie Burnout einzuordnen ist, wird es von Betroffenen als stark belastend empfunden. Der Schlüssel zum Bekämpfen von Burnout besteht darin, mit bewusster Entspannung dem durchgehenden Stress etwas entgegenzusetzen. Das kann beispielsweise mittels Sport oder Meditation erreicht werden. Auch Neurofeedback kann helfen, das Gehirn von seinem Dauerstress zu befreien, indem gezielt entspannte Gehirnaktivität trainiert wird. Auch feste Termine, die der Entspannung dienen sollen, können helfen, da sie im stressigen Alltag weniger leicht abgesagt werden als das Vorhaben am Abend joggen zu gehen. Mit Entspannungstraining zum Abbau von Stress und Aufbau von Stressresistenz kann Neurofeedback sowohl als Therapie, als auch als präventive Maßnahme eingesetzt werden.

Neben zum Teil schwerwiegenden Auswirkungen auf Betroffene, kann Burnout als stressinduziertes Syndrom auch Auswirkungen auf die Wirtschaft haben, die mit zunehmend mehr Arbeitsausfälle umgehen muss. Um diese Entwicklung zu reduzieren bieten sich unter anderem präventive Vorgehen an, die auf Stressreduzierung und ein Erlernen von gesundem Umgang mit Stress ausgerichtet sind.

Literatur

Awa, W., Plaumann, M., & Walter, U. (2010). Burnout prevention: A review of intervention programs. Patient Education and Counseling, 78(2), 184-190.

Bianchi, R., Schonfeld, I. S., & Laurent, E. (2015). Burnout–depression overlap: A review. Clinical Psychological Review, 36, 28-41.

Bundesministerium für Gesundheit. (2019). Förderung der psychischen Gesundheit und des Wohlbefindens am Arbeitsplatz. Retrieved from https://www.bundesgesundheitsministerium.de/themen/praevention/betriebliche-gesundheitsfoerderung/gesundheit-und-wohlbefinden-am-arbeitsplatz.html

World Health Organization. (2019). Burn-out an „occupational phenomenon“: International Classification of Diseases. Retrieved from https://www.who.int/mental_health/evidence/burn-out/en/

erhalte unseren monatlichen Newsletter

bekomme alle Updates und wissenswertes rund um mentale Gesundheit

Noch mehr interessantes zu entdecken

Neurofeedback Praxis Steven Jones Stuttgart
Unkategorisiert

Die Neurofeedback Trainingsmethode

Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie könnten Ihr Gehirn ähnlich wie beim Muskeltraining trainieren, um bessere Ergebnisse bei Entscheidungen, dem Erlernen einer neuen Sprache oder dem

Das menschliche Gehirn
Unkategorisiert

Das menschliche Gehirn

Erleben, fühlen, denken, bewegen, verhalten; das alles steuert unser Gehirn. Aber was ist das eigentlich, das Gehirn, das Organ, das für so vieles im Leben

Mentale Schwierigkeiten?

Lassen Sie sich kostenlos beraten, welche Möglichkeiten Neurofeedback bietet.

Gerne helfe ich Ihnen weiter